Janelle Monae : Cold War


Janelle Monae: a true artist in every sense of the word. Ive been a fan since she dropped her first EP three years ago and I knew her debut album would be stellar and I was very much right. The folks over at pitchfork best described it, “Janelle Monáe’s The ArchAndroid immediately dazzles you with its ambition. It’s a 70-minute, 18-track epic comprising two suites, each beginning with an overture, telling a futuristic story starring a messianic android.

The ArchAndroid is deliberately conceived as a world unto itself, but Monáe very carefully places herself in a broader cultural context, as much out of ambition as wide-eyed fandom. Her liner notes list off inspirations for each track, ranging from references to Star Wars and Stevie Wonder album art to Salvador Dali and “the atomic bombs in Muhammad Ali’s fists.” I couldn’t have said it better myself. This is the second single off the album. Enjoy

Listen to “Cold War” Here


Buy Here

Share on StumbleUpon0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on Twitter0Share on Google+0Email this to someone

TAGS: , ,


  • Pingback: Janelle Monae: The Arch Android « Rockin' That *Bling*()

  • http://www.112greene.com lera

    Cool album cover!

  • http://trendland.net Joelle Tessa

    Recordings do her no justice. I wasn’t too thrilled about “Cold War” at first listen. Yet, after seeing her live yesterday at Outside Lands, I am now all about Janelle. Her distinct tribute to The Greats can be seen in her MJ-like moonwalks and vocals, the Lauren Hill-like rants (not to mention beauty), and Whitney Houston-like stage presence and diva-ness, which she pays homage to flawlessly. What a starlet; and an undeniably innovative one, at that. Everything about her is mesmerizing! Forgive me father, for I have sinned: I now believe in Janelle Monae!

10 Aug 2010 @ 9:57 am
Janelle Monae : Cold War
1 / 0